Partial Solar Eclipse

Without any special equipment and relying on the fickle local weather I thought there’d be little hope of getting any pictures of the solar eclipse. So, I was surprised that the variable clouds provided a few opportunities to look (safely?) at the sun near the partial totality we had in NE Ohio.

Seeing a familiar landscape under only ~20% of the normal light for the midday was an odd experience. The birds seemed agitated as they flew around, not quite sure what they should be doing, and the cicadas began their calling and the mosquitoes began to buzz around me. It only took a little imagination to tell myself I’d been transported to a alien planet with a much dimmer sun.

I hope to be better prepared in 2024 when the path of totality for that solar eclipse will be so near my home. Taken August 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

